Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Bayreuth Graduate School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences (BayNAT)

Print page
Campus der Universität Bayreuth.


BayNAT: The University of Bayreuth’s graduate school that focuses on natural sciences

The Bayreuth Graduate School of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, BayNAT for short, focuses on the natural sciences. It offers the opportunity for doctoral studies across faculties. It is supported by Faculty I (Mathematics, Physics and Computer Science) and Faculty II (Biology, Chemistry and Earth Sciences), and several research groups from Faculty VI (Engineering Science).

BayNAT is subdivided into individual doctoral programmes in which a large number of research groups collaborate across faculties to study the most topical issues in science. It is the goal of BayNAT to offer young scientists an excellent environment for their research embedded in an international context.

Interested doctoral candidates should first contact a supervisor from one of the three faculties (Mathematics, Physics and Computer Science / Biology, Chemistry and Earth Sciences / Engineering Science). Supervisor and doctoral student then decide on a suitable doctoral programme.

In the doctoral programmes, doctoral students are advised by a mentoring committee consisting of three scientists. The doctoral programme and mentoring committee ensure that each doctoral student receives individually optimised guidance and support, complementing the research work. Besides imparting general scientific core competencies, the doctoral programmes allow ample time for creative and productive research, the main focus of every doctoral thesis. In addition, the BayNAT doctoral programmes provide a platform for interdisciplinary cooperation between the participating research groups.

Doctoral studies at BayNAT are further complemented by sudent symposia, conferences and research-related seminars, for example on scientific writing. These activities will be documented by credit points obtained in the course of the doctoral studies (see the list of required credit points in the annexes to the programmes in the BayNAT regulations). This enables BayNAT graduates to work scientifically in the diverse fields of modern natural sciences and to contribute creatively to the further development of scientific concepts

BayNAT is headed by a director and a deputy director, who represent both supporting faculties. The individual doctoral programmes are each headed by an executive board - usually consisting of three members - whose chairperson is the direct contact for the respective doctoral programme.


Please note: Besides BayNAT, there is the university-wide "University of Bayreuth Graduate School (UBT Graduate School)"

Unlike BayNAT, the UBT Graduate School is an institution of the entire University of Bayreuth and is open to doctoral students of all disciplines, regardless of whether they are doing their doctorate in a graduate centre or school, such as BayNAT, or with individual supervision at one of the faculties of the University of Bayreuth.

The UBT Graduate School promotes scientific exchange in the first phase of independent research, aims to ensure and further develop university-wide quality standards and support interdisciplinary qualification with additional teaching and training opportunities. Modest financial support is also possible for members. Further information can be found on the UBT Graduate School Homepage.

Membership in the UBT Graduate School is voluntary and does not start automatically with admission to BayNAT, but must be applied for separately after acceptance as a doctoral candidate within the first year of the doctorate.

Webmaster: Univ.Prof.Dr. Markus Lippitz

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog Contact

Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Bayreuther Graduiertenschule für Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften (BayNAT)

Seite drucken
Campus der Universität Bayreuth.

  
BayNAT: Graduiertenschule der Universität Bayreuth mit naturwissenschaftlicher Schwerpunktsetzung

Die Bayreuther Graduiertenschule für Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften, kurz BayNAT, ist eine Graduiertenschule mit naturwissenschaftlicher Schwerpunktsetzung, die fakultätsübergreifend die Möglichkeit zur Promotion bietet. Sie wird von der Fakultät I (Mathematik, Physik und Informatik) und der Fakultät II (Biologie, Chemie und Geowissenschaften) getragen, beteiligt sind ferner einige Arbeitsgruppen der Fakultät VI (Ingenieurwissenschaften).

Die BayNAT gliedert sich in einzelne Promotionsprogramme, in denen eine Vielzahl von Arbeitsgruppen fakultätsübergreifend zusammenarbeitet und an aktuellsten Fragestellungen forscht. Es ist das Ziel der BayNAT, jungen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern ein hervorragendes Umfeld für ihre Forschung mit internationaler Ausrichtung zu bieten.

Interessierte Promotionskandidatinnen und Promotionskandidaten suchen sich zunächst eine Betreuerin oder einen Betreuer aus einer der drei Fakultäten (Mathematik, Physik und Informatik / Biologie, Chemie und Geowissenschaften / Ingenieurwissenschaften). Beide entscheiden dann gemeinsam über ein passendes Promotionsprogramm.

In den Promotionsprogrammen werden die Promovierenden durch ein Mentorat intensiv betreut, das aus drei Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern besteht. Promotionsprogramm und Mentorat stellen sicher, dass jede Doktorandin und jeder Doktorand eine individuell optimierte, die Forschungsarbeit begleitende Anleitung und Förderung erhält. Neben der Vermittlung der allgemeinen wissenschaftlichen Kernkompetenzen bleibt in den Promotionsprogrammen vor allem Zeit für kreative und produktive Forschung, die den Schwerpunkt jeder Doktorarbeit darstellt. Zusätzlich bilden die Promotionsprogramme der BayNAT eine Plattform für die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit der beteiligten Arbeitsgruppen.

Die Promotion in der BayNAT wird zudem durch Doktorandensymposien, Teilnahme an Fachtagungen und forschungsnahe Seminare beispielsweise zum wissenschaftlichen Schreiben strukturiert. Diese Aktivitäten müssen in Form von Leistungspunkten im Laufe des Promotionsverfahrens nachgewiesen werden (siehe Auflistung der erforderlichen Leistungspunkte in den Anhängen der Programme in der Ordnung der BayNAT). Damit werden die Absolventinnen und Absolventen der BayNAT befähigt, in den vielfältigen Bereichen der modernen Naturwissenschaften wissenschaftlich zu arbeiten und kreativ zur Weiterentwicklung wissenschaftlicher Konzepte beizutragen.

Die BayNAT wird von einer Direktorin/einem Direktor und einer/einem stellvertretenden Direktorin/Direktor geleitet, beide tragendenden Fakultäten sind hierbei vertreten. Den einzelnen Promotionsprogrammen steht jeweils ein – i.d.R. dreiköpfiges – Leitungsgremium vor, dessen Vorsitzende bzw. Vorsitzender die unmittelbare Ansprechperson für das jeweilige Promotionsprogramm ist.


Bitte beachten: Neben der BayNAT gibt es die universitätsweite "University of Bayreuth Graduate School (UBT Graduate School)"

Die UBT Graduate School ist eine Institution der gesamten Universität Bayreuth und steht Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aller Fächer offen, egal ob sie strukturiert in Graduiertenzentren (-schulen), wie der BayNAT, oder mit individueller Betreuung an einer Fakultät der Universität Bayreuth promovieren.

Die UBT Graduate School fördert den wissenschaftlichen Austausch in der ersten Phase selbstständiger Forschung, möchte universitätsweite Qualitätsstandards sichern und weiterentwickeln und die überfachliche Qualifikation mit zusätzlichen Lehr- und Trainingsangeboten unterstützen. Auch eine finanzielle Förderung ist in kleinerem Umfang für Mitglieder möglich. Nähere Informationen finden Sie auf der UBT Graduate School Homepage.

Die Mitgliedschaft in der UBT Graduate School ist freiwillig und erfolgt auch nicht automatisch mit der Aufnahme in die BayNAT, sondern muss ggf. nach erfolgter Annahme zur Promotion - und innerhalb des ersten Jahres der Promotion – separat beantragt werden.


Verantwortlich für die Redaktion: Univ.Prof.Dr. Markus Lippitz

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog Kontakt