Navigation Menu


Main content of this web page


Welcome to our Website

Learn more about the PhD program Computing Science

The PhD program in Computing Science is supported by the Department of Mathematics, Physics, and Computer Science and prepares students who are qualified to perform independent research in the field of computer science.

The program considers both theoretical and application-oriented practical problems of computer science. This includes mathematical and scientific problems which can be pursued in cooperation with other fields from the Graduate School BayNAT. The following research areas of computer science are represented in the program:

Software Engineering

The chair for Software Engineering is focused on research in the area of Model-Driven Softwate Engineering. Models, for instance UML class diagrams, have been used for a long period of time in order to design or to document software systems. They abstract from the software system to be developed or to be analyzed by reducing it to concepts necessary to make or comprehend design decisions. The goal of Model-Driven Engineering is to automatize the transformation from input models to source code complying to the desired target language as much as possible. For research, this goal implies a multitude of interesting questions, including model exchange, definition of graphical and/or textual syntax, dynamic semantics, support for variability (e.g., software product lines), model-to-model as well as model-to-text transformations, and support for model-driven processes and tools in general.

BayCompScience_Softwaretechnik

Parallel and Distributed Systems

This research area deals with the principles, technology and programming of parallel and distributed systems. The goal is to simplify the programming of various complex systems, so that the user can concentrate on the properties of the algorithms and calculations, while the software system realizes the efficient use on the respective platform. Priorities are on the development of new and efficient implementation of known parallel algorithms from the field of scientific computing, the development of new programming models for the realization of adaptive, scalable, and flexible deployments, scheduling and load balancing methods and the development of programming environments and software libraries that provide the user with these approaches with several levels of abstraction.

CompScience_Parallele_Systeme

Robotics and Embedded Systems

In this research area two research directions are regarded. The first direction is the coexistence and cooperation of humans and robots. The aim is to lift the strict spatial separation between humans and robots to combine their strengths synergistically. For this, the camera-based surveillance, collision detection, motion planning and intention recognition are considered. The second research direction is the intuitive programming of robots. Goal is to reduce the high programming effort and to make the robot even for non-experts available and thus increase the potential applications. For this, the simple sensor integration, programming by demonstration as well as imperative and declarative approaches are considered.

BayCompScience_Robotik

Databases and Information Systems

Research at the Chair of Applied Computer Science IV (Databases and Information Systems) is focusing on generic methods and architectures for modelling and implementing database and/or process-based information systems. The focal point of our research lies in the comprehensive investigation of all aspects of process management. Our underlying thesis is that process management is an ideal means for all sorts of integration efforts within an enterprise. Although, we still see that many pragmatic issues of process management are not matured enough such that process management can become a standard technology that easily can be applied. Our aim is to further investigate the theoretical and conceptual basis of process management and translate these results into pragmatically solutions.

BayCompScience_Datenbanken

Visual Computing

The main reserach in this area is focused on real-time rendering, geometric modeling and medical image processing. The central reserach topic in real-time rendering is the synthesis of photo realistic images using current graphics hardware. Here the human visual system is one of the main factors that can be used to generate as realistic as possible images in real-time. In the area of geometric modeling the increasing complexity of industrial CAD models poses more and more challanges to 3D modeling systems. Therefore, new methods are required that can cope with the increasing amount of data and allow for interactive modeling. The amount of data is also continuously increasing in the field of medical image processing due to the development of imaging hardware with increasing resolution and specimen size. As classical methods in this area do not scale to larger data sets, completely new algorithms have to be developed in this area as well.

BayCompScience_Datenverarbeitung

Algorithms and Data Structures

The central aspects of this research area are the design and the analysis of algorithms and data structures, in particular in the field of computational geometry (with an emphasis on the analysis and the comparison of geometric patterns and shapes). Furthermore we consider topics like, e.g., the classification of geometric problems within the framework of parameterized complexity theory, or the design and planning of geometric networks. The work focuses on both, the theoretical investigation of algorithmic questions, as well as the implementation of the methods developed in various application areas (like, e.g., shape matching or computer assisted surgery).

BayCompScience_Algorithmen

Theoretical Computer Science

The Theoretical Computer Science group investigates mathematical foundations of computing and computer science. A particular focus is on foundations of databases, standards for data on the Web, semi-structured data, and management of data in general. Through the close connections between data management and areas such as logic, complexity, and scalability we can combine fundamental research with the study of current topics in data management. Our mathematical tools consist of complexity theory, automata theory, logic, and discrete mathematics.

In-depth knowledge of Computer Science, career skills

In addition to independent research, the PhD program imparts in-depth knowledge of computer science. Along the way you will acquire key skills for your career. Languages of instruction are German and English.


Footer of this web page


© 2010 BayNAT, University of BayreuthLast modified: 18 February 2016


Skip to the .


[Footer of printer-friendly version]

Print-out from the Bayreuth Graduate School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences website, University of Bayreuth
http://www.baynat.uni-bayreuth.de/
Last modified: 18 February 2016, Copyright © University of Bayreuth - All rights reserved.

Navigationsmenü


Hauptinhalt dieser Seite


Herzlich Willkommen

Das Promotionsprogramm Computing Science stellt sich vor

                                                          

Dieses von der Fakultät für Mathematik, Physik und Informatik getragene Promotionsprogramm bereitet besonders qualifizierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler auf die selbständige Forschung in der Informatik (Computing Science) vor.

                                                          

Im Promotionsprogramm werden sowohl grundlagenorientierte, theoretische als auch an- wendungsbezogene, praktische Problemstellungen der Informatik behandelt. Dies schließt insbesondere mathematische und naturwissenschaftliche Fragestellungen ein, die in Koope- ration mit anderen in der Graduiertenschule BayNAT vertretenen Fächern bearbeitet werden können. Die folgenden Forschungsschwerpunkte der Informatik sind im Programm vertreten:

Softwaretechnik

Der Lehrstuhl für Softwaretechnik forscht im Bereich der modellgetriebenen Softwareentwicklung. Modelle, z.B. UML-Klassendiagramme, werden schon seit längerer Zeit für den Entwurf und zur Dokumentation von Softwaresystemen verwendet. Sie abstrahieren von zu entwickelnden bzw. von vorhandenen Softwaresystemen, indem sie diese auf für Entwurfsentscheidungen wesentliche Teile reduzieren. Ziel der modellgetriebenen Entwicklung ist es, die Transformation von Modellen in einen Quelltext der gewünschten Zielsprache weitestgehend zu automatisieren. Für die Forschung ergeben sich aus dieser Zielsetzung einige interessante Fragestellungen bezüglich Austausch von Modellen, Definition von textueller und/oder grafischer Syntax, dynamischer Semantik, Unterstützung von Variabilität (Stichwort: Softwareproduktlinien), Modell-zu-Modell sowie Modell-zu-Text-Transformationen, Prozess- und Werkzeugunterstützung im Allgemeinen.

BayCompScience_Softwaretechnik

Parallele und Verteilte Systeme

Dieser Forschungsschwerpunkt beschäftigt sich mit den Prinzipien, der Technologie und der Programmierung paralleler und verteilter Systeme. Ziel ist die Vereinfachung der Programmierung der vielfältigen komplexen Systeme, so dass der Nutzer sich auf die Eigenschaften der verwendeten Algorithmen und Berechnungen konzentrieren kann, während das Softwaresystem die effiziente Nutzung auf der jeweiligen Plattform realisiert. Schwerpunkte sind die Entwicklung neuer und die effiziente Implementierung bekannter paralleler Algorithmen aus dem Bereich des wissenschaftlichen Rechnens, die Entwicklung neuer Programmiermodelle zur Realisierung adaptiver, skalierbarer und flexibler Implementierungen, Scheduling und Lastverteilungsverfahren sowie die Entwicklung von Programmierumgebungen und Softwarebibliotheken, die diese Ansätze dem Nutzer mit mehreren Abstraktionsebenen zur Verfügung stellen.

CompScience_Parallele_Systeme

Robotik und Eingebettete Systeme

In diesem Forschungsschwerpunkt werden zwei Stoßrichtungen betrachtet: Die erste Stoßrichtungen ist die Koexistenz und Kooperation von Mensch und Roboter. Ziel ist es, die strikte räumliche Trennung zwischen Mensch und Roboter aufzuheben, um ihre Stärken synergistisch zu kombinieren. Hierzu werden die kamerabasierte Raumüberwachung, Kollisionserkennung, Bewegungsplanung und Intentionserkennung betrachtet. Die zweite Stoßrichtung dieses Forschungsschwerpunkts ist die intuitive Programmierung von Robotern. Ziele sind dabei, den hohen Programmieraufwand zu reduzieren, die Roboter auch Nicht-Experten nutzbar zu machen und damit die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten zu vergrößern. Hierzu werden die einfache Sensorintegration, das Programmieren durch Vormachen, sowie imperative und deklarative Ansätze betrachtet.

BayCompScience_Robotik

Datenbanken und Informationssysteme

Die Forschungstätigkeiten am Lehrstuhl für Angewandte Informatik IV (Datenbanken und Informationssysteme) konzentrieren sich auf generische Methoden und Architektur für Modellierung und Umsetzung von datenbank- und/oder prozessgestützter Informationssysteme. Einer der Schwerpunkt liegt in der Untersuchung der grundlegenden Perspektiven des Prozessmanagements. Wir gehen von der These aus, dass das Prozessmanagement ein ideales Mittel zur Umsetzung von Integrationsaufgaben in Unternehmen. Allerdings decken aktuelle Lösungen des Prozessmanagements viele pragmatische Anforderungen an diese Technologie noch nicht ab uns sind deshalb nur bedingt einsatzfähig. Unser Ziel ist die Untersuchung der theoretischen und konzeptuellen Grundlagen des Prozessmanagements, aus welcher praktische Lösungen aufgebaut werden.

BayCompScience_Datenbanken

Graphische Datenverarbeitung

Die Schwerpunkte in der Forschung in diesem Bereich liegen in der Echtzeitgraphik, der geometrischen Modellierung und der medizinischen Bildverarbeitung. Auf dem Gebiet der Echtzeitgrafik ist der zentrale Forschungsgegenstand die Erzeugung fotorealistischer Bilder unter Verwendung aktueller Grafikhardware. Dabei ist insbesondere die Ausnutzung der Fähigkeiten und Einschränkungen der menschlichen Wahrnehmung von Interesse, um möglichst real wirkende Bilder in Echtzeit zu erzeugen. Bei der geometrischen Modellierung stellt die zunehmende Komplexität industrieller CAD Modelle immer größere Anforderungen an 3D Modellierungssysteme. Daher werden neue Verfahren benötigt, die die wachsenden Datenmengen verwalten können und so die interaktive Modellierung erlauben. Auch in der medizinischen Bildverarbeitung hat sich die Datenmenge durch immer bessere bildgebende Verfahren stetig erhöht. Da hier viele klassische Verfahren nicht auf größere Datenmengen skalieren, müssen zum Teil vollständig neue Methoden entwickelt werden.

BayCompScience_Datenverarbeitung

Algorithmen und Datenstrukturen

Zentraler Gegenstand dieses Forschungsschwerpunkts sind der Entwurf und die Analyse von Algorithmen und Datenstrukturen, speziell auf dem Gebiet der algorithmischen Geometrie (und dort vor allem das Spezialthema der Analyse und des Vergleichs von Mustern und Formen). Darüber hinaus werden auch andere Themen wie z.B. die Untersuchung von geometrischen Problemen mit Methoden der parametrisierten Komplexitätstheorie, oder der Entwurf geometrischer Netzwerke behandelt. Ziel sind dabei sowohl die rein theoretische Untersuchung algorithmischer Problemstellungen, als auch die praxisrelevante Umsetzung der dabei entwickelten Verfahren in verschiedenen Anwendungsfeldern (wie z.B. der Mustererkennung oder der computerunterstützten Medizin).

 BayCompScience_Algorithmen

Theoretische Informatik

Die Theoretische Informatik erforscht die mathematische Seite der Informatik. Wir interessieren uns dabei besonders für Grundlagen von Datenbanken, Standards für Datenverarbeitung im Web, semistrukturierte Daten und Datenverarbeitung im Allgemeinen. Die vielen Verknüpfungen zwischen Datenverarbeitung und Logik, Komplexität und Effizienz ermöglichen es, Grundlagenforschung mit aktuellen Themen im Datenmanagement zu kombinieren. Unsere mathematischen Werkzeuge kommen aus der Komplexitätstheorie, Automatentheorie, Logik, und diskreten Mathematik.

Vertiefung von Informatikkenntnissen, Schlüsselkompetenzen für das Berufsleben

                

Zusätzlich zur eigenständigen Forschung vermittelt das Promotionsprogramm vertiefte Kenntnisse in der Informatik. Daneben werden Schlüsselkompetenzen für das Berufsleben vermittelt. Unterrichtssprachen sind Deutsch und Englisch.


Inhalt des Footers dieser Seite


© 2010 BayNAT, Universität BayreuthLetzte Änderung: 18.02.2016


Direkt zum .


[Fußzeile der Druckansicht]

Ausdruck aus dem Webangebot der Bayreuther Graduiertenschule für Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften, Universität Bayreuth
http://www.baynat.uni-bayreuth.de/
Stand: 18.02.2016, Copyright © Universität Bayreuth - Alle Rechte vorbehalten.