Navigation Menu


Main content of this web page


Introducing the city of Bayreuth and its surroundings

Bayreuth, an urban district in the heart of Upper Franconia which has been a university town since 1975, is nestled between the Fichtel Mountains (Fichtelgebirge) in the northeast and the Franconian Switzerland (Fränkische Schweiz) in the southwest and lies on the Roter Main. The city is the seat of the Upper Franconian government. It is world-famous mainly because of the annual Bayreuth Festival, during which Richard Wagner's operas are performed in the Festival Theatre on the “Green Hill”. An additional point of interest in the city is the Richard Wagner Museum in the Haus Wahnfried, the residence of Richard Wagner and family estate until 1966, which has been a museum since 1976, has an associated national archive, and serves as the research facilities for the Richard Wagner Foundation in Bayreuth.

In addition, the margravine opera house is particularly worth seeing, which, with its opulent baroque décor which was designed by Giuseppe Galli da Bibiena, prompted Wagner to come to Bayreuth already in 1870. Other buildings from the Bayreuth margrave period of the 17th and 18th centuries such as the Neues Schloss (new palace), the Altes Schloss (old palace) in Eremitage park, or the Schloss Fantasie make you want to go back in time to follow the footsteps of the margravine Wilhelmine. Those who are interested can take part in historical tours to get a vivid insight into life with and under the rule of the margraves.

In 2011, under the slogan “the joy of Liszt's music”, the 200th birthday of the composer and piano virtuoso Franz Liszt is being celebrated with an extensive jubilee program.

The Jean Paul Museum is dedicated to the life and work of the poet and author Johann Paul Friedrich Richter (Jean Paul), who lived in Bayreuth from 1804 until his death in 1825.

Besides its numerous museums, Bayreuth offers a diverse range of services and cultural events such as concerts, theatrical performances, cinema, and sporting events. The city's indoor swimming pool and the Lohengrin spa, to name just a couple, provide for health and well-being. The nearby Fichtel Mountains provide the backdrop for a wide range of other interesting leisure activities.

Festival Theatre La-Spezia-Platz/Luitpoldplatz Africa Caribbean Festival at the 'Ehrenhof' in front of the revenue service building
“At some point we will all be sitting together in Bayreuth and wonder how we could ever stand it anywhere else.”
(Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche)
Margravine Wilhelmine, Jean Paul, Richard Wagner, Franz Liszt 

Footer of this web page


© 2010 BayNAT, University of BayreuthLast modified: 5 April 2012


Skip to the .


[Footer of printer-friendly version]

Print-out from the Bayreuth Graduate School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences website, University of Bayreuth
http://www.baynat.uni-bayreuth.de/
Last modified: 5 April 2012, Copyright © University of Bayreuth - All rights reserved.

Navigationsmenü


Hauptinhalt dieser Seite


Lernen Sie die Stadt Bayreuth und ihre Umgebung kennen

Bayreuth, kreisfreie Stadt im Herzen Oberfrankens, die seit 1975 Universitätsstadt ist, liegt eingebettet zwischen dem Fichtelgebirge im Nordosten und der Fränkischen Schweiz im Südwesten am Roten Main. Die Stadt ist Sitz der Regierung von Oberfranken. Weltbekannt ist sie vor allem durch die jährlich im Bayreuther Festspielhaus auf dem Grünen Hügel stattfindenden Bayreuther Festspiele, bei denen die Opern Richard Wagners zur Aufführung kommen. Zu den kulturellen Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt gehört auch das Richard-Wagner-Museum im Haus Wahnfried, dem Wohnhaus Richard Wagners und Familiensitz bis 1966, das seit dem Jahr 1976 Museum mit angegliedertem Nationalarchiv und Forschungsstätte der Richard-Wagner-Stiftung Bayreuth ist.

Daneben ist als besonders sehenswert das Markgräfliche Opernhaus zu nennen, welches mit seiner reichen von Giuseppe Galli da Bibiena entworfenen Barockausstattung bereits 1870 Wagners Kommen nach Bayreuth veranlasste. Weitere Bauten aus der Bayreuther Markgrafenzeit des 17. und 18. Jahrhunderts wie das Neue Schloss, das Alte Schloss in der Parkanlage Eremitage oder das Schloss Fantaisie machen Lust auf eine Zeitreise auf den Spuren der Markgräfin Wilhelmine. Historische Erlebnisführungen ermöglichen Interessierten lebendige Einblicke in das Leben mit und unter den Markgrafen.

2011 wurde unter dem Motto „Lust auf Liszt“ mit einem umfangreichen Jubiläums-Programm der 200. Geburtstag des Komponisten und Klaviervirtuosen Franz Liszt begangen.

Das Jean-Paul-Museum ist dem Leben und Schaffen des Dichters und Schriftstellers Johann Paul Friedrich Richter (Jean Paul) gewidmet, der seit 1804 bis zu seinem Tod im Jahre 1825 in Bayreuth lebte.

Neben zahlreichen musealen Angeboten bietet Bayreuth zudem ein vielseitiges Dienstleistungs- und Kulturangebot wie Konzert-, Theater-, Kino- und Sportveranstaltungen. Für Gesundheit und Wellness wird u.a. im Stadtbad und der Lohengrin-Therme gesorgt. Das in unmittelbarer Nähe gelegene Fichtelgebirge lädt zu weiteren interessanten Freizeitaktivitäten ein.

Festspielhaus La-Spezia-Platz/Luitpoldplatz Afrika-Karibik-Festival im Ehrenhof vor dem Finanzamt
„Irgendwann sitzen wir alle in Bay-
reuth zusammen und begreifen gar nicht mehr, wie man es anderswo aushalten konnte.“
(Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche)
Markgräfin Wilhelmine, Jean Paul, Richard Wagner, Franz Liszt

Inhalt des Footers dieser Seite


© 2010 BayNAT, Universität BayreuthLetzte Änderung: 05.04.2012


Direkt zum .


[Fußzeile der Druckansicht]

Ausdruck aus dem Webangebot der Bayreuther Graduiertenschule für Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften, Universität Bayreuth
http://www.baynat.uni-bayreuth.de/
Stand: 05.04.2012, Copyright © Universität Bayreuth - Alle Rechte vorbehalten.